http://ajstd.org/index.php/ajstd/issue/feed ASEAN Journal on Science and Technology for Development 2020-01-22T06:27:03+07:00 Widodo ajstd.journal@gmail.com Open Journal Systems <h2>About the <em>ASEAN Journal on Science &amp; Technology for Development</em></h2> <p style="font-weight: 300; font-size: 1.01rem;">Jointly published by the ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology and the Ministry of Research, Technology, and Higher Education of the Republic of Indonesia, the <em>ASEAN Journal on Science &amp; Technology for Development</em> (print ISSN 0217-5460; online ISSN 2224-9028) is a peer-reviewed open access journal focusing on the publication of articles that make positive, tangible contributions to science and technology in the ASEAN region. Its main aim is to promote andGoogle Scholar, ID Scopus, ResearchGate, Orcid), accelerate the discovery and ultimate ASEAN-wide application of scientific and technological innovations, the consequence of which should be greater prosperity for the people of Southeast Asia.</p> <p style="font-weight: 300; font-size: 1.01rem;">AJSTD covers a wide range of technology-related subjects in the context of ASEAN, including biotechnology, non-conventional energy research, materials science and technology, marine sciences, meteorology and geophysics, food science and technology, microelectronics and information technology, space applications, science and technology policy, and infrastructure and resources development.</p> <h2>About The ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology</h2> <p style="font-weight: 300; font-size: 1.01rem;">The ASEAN Committee on Science and Technology was established to strengthen and enhance the capability of ASEAN in science and technology so that it can promote economic development and help achieve a high quality of life for its people. Its terms and reference are:</p> <ul class="asean-terms" style="font-weight: 300; font-size: 1.01rem;"> <li class="show">To generate and promote development of scientific and technological expertise and manpower in the ASEAN region;</li> <li class="show">To facilite and accelerate the transfer of scientific and technological development among ASEAN countries and from more advanced regions of the world to the ASEAN region;</li> <li class="show">To provide support and assistance in the development and application of research discoveries and technological practices of endogenous origin for the common good, and in the more effective use of natural resources available in the ASEAN region and in general; and</li> <li class="show">To provide scientific and technological support towards the implementation of existing and future ASEAN projects.</li> </ul> <p style="font-weight: 300; font-size: 1.01rem;">Further information about the activities of ASEAN COST can be <a class="border-hover" href="http://astnet.asean.org/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=categories&amp;id=8&amp;Itemid=130" target="_blank" rel="noopener">found on its website</a>.</p> http://ajstd.org/index.php/ajstd/article/view/581 SINGV – the Convective-Scale Numerical Weather Prediction System for Singapore 2020-01-09T06:09:09+07:00 Xiang-Yu Huang hans_huang@nea.gov.sg Dale Barker dale.barker@metoffice.gov.uk Stuart Webster stuart.webster@metoffice.gov.uk Anurag Dipankar Anurag_DIPANKAR@nea.gov.sg Adrian Lock adrian.lock@metoffice.gov.uk Marion Mittermaier marion.mittermaier@metoffice.gov.uk Xiangming Sun xiangming.sun@yahoo.com.sg Rachel North rachel.north@metoffice.gov.uk Rob Darvell rob.darvell@metoffice.gov.uk Douglas Boyd douglas.boyd@metoffice.gov.uk Jeff Lo Jeff_Lo@nea.gov.sg Jianyu Liu Jerry_LIU@nea.gov.sg Bruce Macpherson bruce.macpherson@metoffice.gov.uk Peter Heng Peter_HENG@nea.gov.sg Adam Maycock adam.maycock@metoffice.gov.uk Laura Pitcher lauramaystewart@hotmail.com Robert Tubbs robert.tubbs@metoffice.gov.uk Martin McMillan mogmelon@gmail.com Sijin Zhang zsjzyhzp@gmail.com Susanna Hagelin susanna.hagelin@smhi.se Aurore Porson aurore.porson@metoffice.gov.uk Guiting Song guitingsong@gmail.com Becky Beckett rebecca.beckett@metoffice.gov.uk Wee Kiong Cheong CHEONG_Wee_Kiong@nea.gov.sg Allison Semple allison.semple@metoffice.gov.uk Chris Gordon gordon.s.chris@gmail.com <p>Extreme rainfall is one of the primary meteorological hazards in Singapore, as well as elsewhere in the deep tropics, and it can lead to significant local flooding. Since 2013, the Meteorological Service Singapore (MSS) and the United Kingdom Met Office (UKMO) have been collaborating to develop a convective-scale Numerical Weather Prediction (NWP) system, called SINGV. Its primary aim is to provide improved weather forecasts for Singapore and the surrounding region, with a focus on improved short-range prediction of localized heavy rainfall. This paper provides an overview of the SINGV development, the latest NWP capabilities at MSS and some key results of evaluation. The paper describes science advances relevant to the development of any km-scale NWP suitable for the deep tropics and provides some insights into the impact of local data assimilation and utility of ensemble predictions.</p> 2019-12-27T00:00:00+07:00 Copyright (c) 2019 The Author(s) http://ajstd.org/index.php/ajstd/article/view/582 Temporary Shelter Simulation Towards Effectiveness Value of OTTV and Thermal Comfort 2020-01-20T16:20:00+07:00 Dyah Puspa Ayu dyah.puspa.ayu@gmail.com Budi Prayitno dyah.puspa.ayu@gmail.com Agus Haryadi dyah.puspa.ayu@gmail.com <p>Indonesia is prone to a variety of natural disasters, one of which is earthquakes. Earthquakes are detrimental to human life, causing among other things a loss of shelter. As such, victims of earthquakes need basic assistance in the form of shelter, which the Indonesian government provides in the transition phase of emergency responses. Several innovations in the provision of temporary shelter have arisen in terms of packaging and fast unloading. This research aimed to examine the effective value of OTTV energy (overall thermal transfer value), differences in room temperature, and thermal comfort in existing temporary shelters. OTTV values and thermal comfort are adapted to Indonesia's humid tropical climate, which has a temperature ranging 24–30°C and air humidity of 75%. Temporary shelters were simulated with Rhinoceros and Grasshopper softwares. The simulation was carried out in two stages, with the first stage simulating the temporary shelter materials and the second stage simulating according to a predetermined standard. The results concluded that the effective value of OTTV with the use of Styrofoam-based shelter gives a value of 27.63 W/m<sup>2</sup> with a decrease of up to 4.70 W/m<sup>2</sup> and the temperature drops to 2–3°C.</p> 2019-12-27T00:00:00+07:00 Copyright (c) 2019 The Author(s) http://ajstd.org/index.php/ajstd/article/view/591 Analyzing the Characteristics of Domestic Wastes in Belik River, the Special Region of Yogyakarta, Indonesia 2020-01-22T06:27:03+07:00 Slamet Suprayogi ssuprayogi@ugm.ac.id Muh Aris Marfai arismarfai@ugm.ac.id Ahmad Cahyadi ahmad.cahyadi@ugm.ac.id Reviana Latifah hendy.fatchurohman@gmail.com Hendy Fatchurohman hendy.fatchurohman@gmail.com <p>The multiplying number of population in the City of Yogyakarta has resulted in a larger volume of wastes in the region. People living on the riverbanks are unfortunately in the habit of discarding domestic waste directly to the river channel, worsening the already polluted water. This study was intended to analyze the characteristics of the municipal wastewater contaminating Belik River. During the water quality test, a rapid investigation method and laboratory analysis were employed. The sampling in the field was based on river segments and travel time of river water. Based on the laboratory test results, the concentrations of phosphate, BOD, and COD in the water bodies had exceeded the standard for Class II water quality indicating pollution due to frequent disposal of household wastes like detergents. The higher the BOD and COD levels, the more unsuitable the water for fisheries and agricultural practices.</p> 2019-12-30T00:00:00+07:00 Copyright (c) 2019 The Author(s) http://ajstd.org/index.php/ajstd/article/view/587 GIS Developments for Ecosystem-Based Marine Spatial Planning and the Challenges Faced in Indonesia 2020-01-09T06:08:33+07:00 Karlina Triana karlina.triana@gmail.com A'an Johan Wahyudi aan.johan.wahyudi@lipi.go.id <p>Aiming to lessen degradations and effects on marine ecosystems, Marine Spatial Planning is used as a management method with a purpose to guide development and use within the marine environment. The stages of Marine Spatial Planning are spatial data collection, data management, data analysis, and decision support systems. This method requires tools to be able to achieve the goals effectively. Geographic Information System (GIS) and remote sensing can easily and effectively be used to access and summarize spatial data into information for evaluating the Marine Spatial planning projects. GIS and remote sensing obviously have an essential function in Marine Spatial Planning in terms of its opportunities and its capabilities for development and projections in the future. This review is intended to produce critical description on the study of GIS for marine spatial planning. Furthermore, this review is intended to foresee the challenges faced in GIS and remote sensing implementation in Indonesia.</p> 2019-12-27T14:48:52+07:00 Copyright (c) 2019 The Author(s) http://ajstd.org/index.php/ajstd/article/view/559 Recovery and Purification of Glycerine as By-product from Philippine Coconut Methyl Ester 2020-01-21T06:24:45+07:00 Annabelle Briones avbriones2003@yahoo.com <p>The study is about the recovery and purification of glycerine as by-product from coconut methyl ester production in the Philippines. The aqueous layer produced from settling or phase splitting of the methyl ester after transesterification process was subjected to chemical and physical treatments to recover the crude glycerine. The crude glycerine obtained from the laboratory and scale-up process conformed with the specification set by the British standard for crude glycerine. The average composition of the recovered crude glycerine was: glycerine, 84.92%; ash, 8.03%; water, 4.72%, MONG (matter organic non glycerol), 2.32%. Further distillation yielded a refined glycerine that meets with the specification set by USP. The average glycerine content of refined glycerine is 96.86%; ash, 0.06%; water, 1.10%, refractive index @ 20 0C, 1.4696, specific gravity at 25 0C, 1.296g.</p> 2020-01-20T11:51:58+07:00 Copyright (c) 2020 The Author(s)